Someone used my CS6 for mustang poster
#1
Posted 22 July 2008 - 04:04 PM
#2
Posted 31 October 2008 - 07:13 AM
#3
Posted 31 October 2008 - 08:02 AM
#4
Posted 31 October 2008 - 09:46 AM
shelbymotorsports, on Oct 31 2008, 11:02 AM, said:
Not sure what the OP is referring to as a CS6 and a Bullit are different cars.
Steve
Besides, assuming the seller just took a random pic and designed a poster would he not need the permission of FORD and not the owner of the car?
I believe this has been brought up before.
#5
Posted 31 October 2008 - 09:48 AM
stump_breaker, on Oct 31 2008, 10:46 AM, said:
I believe this has been brought up before.
Unless we are talking about different posters the one on ebay is from Ford.
It's a Ford produced poster for the Bullit Mustang.
Steve
#6
Posted 31 October 2008 - 09:49 AM
#7
Posted 31 October 2008 - 11:20 AM
stump_breaker, on Oct 31 2008, 10:49 AM, said:
It's my understanding that someone could make a poster featuring a Mustang as long as they didn't use the words or logos, Ford Mustang. Once you start using the words Ford or Mustang is when you get into trouble.
Just like a few years back when Ford starting cracking down on car websites the cease & desist letters were about using the name Ford or Mustang. It wasn't about posting pics of their cars.
But when someone makes a poster its usually for a profit and that can get Fords attention even if the words Ford Mustang are not used.
Lets see what others have to say on this.
Steve
#8
Posted 31 October 2008 - 12:05 PM
#9
Posted 31 October 2008 - 04:40 PM
tekheavy, on Oct 31 2008, 03:05 PM, said:
I just checked ebay and they have taken it off. It looks like ebay took all of their posters off.The company's name is Superstylings.com. What they were doing is making car show posters for people.You would submit 5 or more hi-res pic's and they would make you a poster,the kicker is if you wanted you pic's back then the poster price would be much higher,if you let them keep the pic's then it was a lower price. I went with the lower price,but I didn't know they could make posters out of my pic's and sell them for profit.
Their website is still running and my car (along with many more mustangs) and other models posters are being sold.
slimer_right_profile.JPG (297.66K)
Number of downloads: 67
This is the pic they used.
This post has been edited by LL CS6: 31 October 2008 - 04:53 PM
#10
Posted 01 November 2008 - 10:04 AM
tekheavy, on Oct 31 2008, 01:05 PM, said:
It's my understanding that you would be ok using a photograph of your car that showed the factory badging but you couldn't add text to the poster using words like Ford, Shelby, Mustang, etc.
It's the printed words that get you in trouble with the trademark and copyright infringements.
Again this is just my understanding as a layman so its best to follow up with your local attorney before attempting such an endeavor.
Steve
#11
Posted 01 November 2008 - 10:05 AM
LL CS6, on Oct 31 2008, 05:40 PM, said:
This is the pic they used.
Ok now I understand as I just checked out their website.
It looks like you sign away all your rights to your cars photograph once you place an order with them.
Steve
#12
Posted 01 November 2008 - 10:17 AM
shelbymotorsports, on Nov 1 2008, 02:04 PM, said:
It's the printed words that get you in trouble with the trademark and copyright infringements.
Again this is just my understanding as a layman so its best to follow up with your local attorney before attempting such an endeavor.
Steve
Wasn't planning on doing it. Just curious. Thanks for the info.
Sign In
Register
Help



Bookmark
Del.icio.us
Digg
Email
Facebook
Google
Mixx
Reddit
StumbleUpon
Back to top
MultiQuote




