DPap

Newbie with a dilemma- '08/'09 GT500 OR mod my '08 GT

Hello TeamShelby universe- I’m Dean- Newbie here- actually.. a newbie to all forums in general.

First off I’d like to say that this is really a great forum- From what I’ve been reading/researching you guys are very informed & have a wealth of knowledge w/ plenty of experience when it comes to all things Shelby— so I decided to join it in hopes that some of you might chime in & help me out w/ your experienced opinions on a dilemma I’m having. Obviously this is a Shelby site but I’d appreciate any (impartial) opinions/recommendations from people who’ve had experience/owned/maintained/driven for a good amount of time- both 05-09 GT’s and 08-09 GT500’s (or even if you haven’t had a GT)

BASICALLY MY DILEMMA IS: Should I continue to look to try and purchase a (used) 08-09 GT500 (I like Vapor or Blue) with relatively low miles (30-40K miles) and with a build date after 09/01/08 (to be safe from a few TSB’s I’ve extensively read about)

OR

Keep my 08 GT w/ 80,000miles on it--> get a Compression test done & presuming all is well--> go about w/ performance modding it??

Here’s a list the Pro’s & Con’s of y I’m having a hard time with this;

08-09 GT500

Pro’s:

-Dreamcar :cool: *FORD GT also*

-Overall mean, aggressive, classic looks –always loved it!

-*Has all the ‘goodies’ on/in it from Shelby already—Stock SC’d, Shelby tuned suspension, sway bars, etc., etc.. on & on- Already built to handle a lott of power (don’t have to spend $$ upgrading unless I want to)

-Possible & endless capabilities for performance mods

Con’s:

-Possibly not having the newer TUET8175 transmission w/ updated input shaft ($$),